The Sullivan Roadhouse Historical Museum: “A Stop Along the Trail of Alaska’s History”
Step into the Sullivan Roadhouse Historical Museum in the heart of Delta Junction and go back to the time of sourdoughs, gold fever and frontier hardships. Built in 1905, the Sullivan Roadhouse is the oldest roadhouse in Interior Alaska. It was built on the Donnelly-Washburn winter cut-off, a part of the Valdez-Fairbanks Trail.
John and Florence Sullivan operated the log inn from 1905-1922. Through the early years of gold rush Alaska, they welcomed the weary winter traveler into their spacious and well-appointed roadhouse.
Today, the restored log structure is a museum that houses many of the now antique items that were used by John and Florence. The Sullivan highlights the methods and conditions of traveling on the trail. A well-stocked kitchen was recreated and includes typical turn of the century cookware, utensils, food containers and a charming wood stove. The bedroom showcases the Sullivan’s iron bed, hand-sawn furniture and personal affects. A private sleeping quarters has been recreated to give the visitor the feel of what it was like staying at the old roadhouse.
The museum is also home to an extensive collection of artifacts and photographs from the early 1900’s as well as exciting and entertaining portions of a local man’s dairy. Visitors to the Sullivan Roadhouse will walk away with a true pioneer Alaskan experience and learn about life on the last frontier. So come and take a trip back into Alaska’s past.
The Sullivan Roadhouse Historical Museum is located across from the Visitor’s Information Center and is open 7 days a week from 9am to 6pm. Admission is free.